Accessory to murder… of an outfit

10 Nov

Some of you may have noticed that I haven’t included any accessories in my outfits. I’m about to attempt to explain why.

Accessories and I have a love hate relationship. The stylist in me sees it as an opportunity. As with all elements of an ensemble I like to think about that perfect piece of jewelry that gives an outfit the little zing that sends it to the blissful realm of completion, but in real life I absolutely despise the idea of buying jewelry simply because it goes with an outfit. Sound a little… contradictory? complicated? schizophrenic? Welcome to my head.

The fact is that I have always felt that jewelry should be something you only buy for yourself if you love it deep down in your gut. Why? Because I’ve had experience with buying jewelry that served no purpose other than acting as an ode to the gods of trend and in the end I always find myself hating it. But the pieces that I love are ones that I’ve collected over time purely because they appeal to my aesthetic joy. And in my opinion that is a better reason to lay out my hard earned money than buying something just because it is of the now.

That being said, there are a few pieces that I’ve seen lately that actually manage to light the fire of want within me. Links will follow below.

FeatherBandUrbanBlueAgateUrbanPeacockCuffSwell

And these are so expensive that I will never buy them, but seriously they are what my dreams are made of.

NixonWatchSundanceAquamarineNecklaceVestalWatch

http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?isProduct=true&color=001&navAction=jump&parentid=W_ACC_JEWELRY&id=17061003

http://www.urbanoutfitters.com/urban/catalog/productdetail.jsp?isProduct=true&color=040&navAction=jump&parentid=W_ACC_HAIRACCESSORIES&id=17010935

http://www.swell.com/Girls-Jewelry/ZADS-PEACOCK-WOOD-BRACELET?cs=NA

http://www.nixonnow.com/womens-watches/

http://www.sundancecatalog.com/PRODUCT/Jewelry/Necklaces/47131.html

2 Responses to “Accessory to murder… of an outfit”

  1. Natalia November 13, 2009 at 3:08 am #

    I feel the same way.. when I see certain pieces of jewelry become fashionable I start to hate them.. specially when I walk the streets and see EVERYONE wearing the same style. It should be something unique and meaningful 🙂

    • phillipskt November 13, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

      Exactly, which is one of the reasons why I love your pieces. There’s nothing else like it out there.

Leave a Reply

