Button, button, who’s got the button?

11 Nov

Halloween is, in my opinion, the best holiday. I love autumn and the changing leaves, pumpkins and creepy house decor, but more than anything I stinking luuurvv scary movies. Unfortunately no one in my acquaintance really shares that love so it’s pretty rare that I can actually get somebody to watch one with me unless it is in the month of October. (and usually only after I annoy them to death with my high pitched whiny voice) This year I decided to watch Drag Me To Hell. It actually managed to get good reviews from some of the newspapers and the cover looked sufficiently creepy. It needs to be said that I am one of those people that craves all the spine tingling, hair raising moments that a movie can possibly offer. I want to be so scared that I leave the lights on when I go to sleep that night. So imagine my disappointment when Drag Me to Hell turned out to be a tongue-in-cheek gorefest that wasn’t even remotely scary. Instead it was more like a romp through a cheesy haunted house whose only scary quality was a series of loud noises. Basically the plot was this: a girl working at a bank denies an old woman who has requested a third extension on a house payment. Unfortunately this old woman turns out to be a witch who attacks this girl in an empty parking garage and casts a curse on her that will eventually send her to hell. And how does she cast said curse? By stealing this girl’s button. Throughout the whole movie I was waiting for that old lady to tauntingly sing “Button, button, who’s got the button?” But she never did. Yeah, that movie was so bad that it wasn’t even clever enough to do that. A missed opportunity.

Buttons have been on my aesthetic radar lately and unfortunately they are coming up short. So often they just seem to be a glaring celebration of the norm, ruining otherwise nice sweaters and jackets with their utter mediocrity. How many times have we seen plastic buttons that were made to look like wood, or metal, or worse yet are just ugly little discs done in the wrong color and size? I mean, the sky is the limit. You could really do almost anything you wanted with a button or fastener and yet most of the time buttons end up being (yep, you guessed it) a missed opportunity.

So maybe, with a little magic, an up and coming designer will happen on this post and think to themselves, you know what? This girl is right. (and amazing, and talented, and every good thing) Buttons are boring, buttons are ignored, it is time for a button revolution! Okay, so maybe a lot of magic. But it’s thoughts like this that keep me posting.

 

2 Responses to “Button, button, who’s got the button?”

  1. Alison H. November 12, 2009 at 1:05 pm #

    Kat, when we were in Boston I was searching for a good yarn shop and came accross this store http://www.windsorbutton.com/. I didn’t actually have time to go inside but the website looks awesome. Mabye they will have good buttons.

    • phillipskt November 12, 2009 at 5:12 pm #

      Yeah, some of those buttons were really fun. Thanks Ali!

Leave a Reply

