martyrtard

18 Nov

Is it weird that this blog is not just about my fabulous fashion finds but about my odd, quiet, introverted life as well? I hope not.

So the other day as my boss was leaving the studio he casually mentioned that he was giving me a raise before heading out the door. It literally went like this:

“Hey, I’m taking off,” Karl says as he’s putting on his jacket. “Since we’re getting more business for the holidays I think it’s time to give you a raise. See ya tomorrow.”

All I could do was yell thank you from my desk as the door closed behind him. Unfortunately I had at this point already decided to quit working there. The reasons are as follows: #1 – I need a job that provides health insurance, #2 – I’ve got to get out of this tiny little place, and #3 – I’m sick to death of retouching and printing. Don’t get me wrong, I used to love this job. There was so much to learn and it felt creative for a long time but I have finally gotten to the point where I’ve learned as much as I care to and it’s become so mechanical I could do it whilst in a coma. I had been waiting to tell Karl I was quitting because I’m a chicken and I hate awkward conversations so when he announced that he was giving me a raise I was facing an ethical dilemma. Should I wait to tell him that I was planning to quit until after he’d called the accountant? Or should I tell him what I was planning and let him decide if he still wanted to give me a raise even though I would be leaving in six weeks? I was torn between manipulating the situation for my benefit and my overly stringent morals.

Most everyone I talked to said I should wait. In the business world you have to look out for number one, right? The problem is that I have never been comfortable with that. Meek, timid little me prefers to be a martyrtard (a passive aggressive person who thinks they are being a martyr because they are acting selflessly but because their selflessness is grudging at best they are actually just retarded) so I wish for good things but I’m never willing to do what it takes to get them. I admit that I was tempted to just let it slide but in the end I knew I would feel like a jerk if I didn’t tell Karl what was going on. I also knew that if he didn’t give me the raise I would end up resenting him and pouting around the studio but that was something I could live with. Being outright selfish I could not. The molly mormon martyrtard in me wins again.

So yesterday I finally got the chance to tell Karl my plans to quit and you’ll never guess what he did. He gave me the raise anyway. And you know what he said? “You’re worth every penny.” I almost cried. Yeah, I’m a dork.

To celebrate my raise I decided to include an overpriced pair of Converse in this outfit that have become the object of my obsession. I also can’t help but scream the praises of this dress. I want one in every color and then I want to use those dresses as wall paper, that is how much I love it.

The dress is from swell.com, the shoes converse.com, the jeans forever21.com and the layer tee is from target.com. Altogether the outfit costs $145

http://www.converse.com/#/products/shoes/allshoes/111186

http://www.swell.com/Sale/BB-DAKOTA-EFRON-DRESS?cs=WH

http://www.forever21.com/product.asp?catalog_name=FOREVER21&category_name=btms_jeans&product_id=2068772490&Page=all

http://www.target.com/Mossimo-Black-Scoop-Neck-Tissue/dp/B002C449PO/ref=br_1_21?ie=UTF8&frombrowse=1&searchView=grid5&searchNodeID=2182515011&node=2182515011&searchRank=salesrank&searchPage=3&searchSize=30&id=Mossimo%20Black%20Scoop%20Neck%20Tissue

2 Responses to “martyrtard”

  1. Bradykins November 18, 2009 at 4:31 pm #

    This outfit is awesome. I approve. See if you can get Megan to buy/wear it.

    Brady

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My car was attacked by a tree, a new online clothing store, and my blog needs a new name « *the thrifty fashionista* - May 26, 2010

    […] be pigeon holing myself so now I’m thinking either Kat’s Fashion Nonsense or Fashion Martyrtard. If you don’t know what that means then click on the word and you will be taken to my post […]

Leave a Reply

