Thrice

7 Dec

I realize I promised to write about the Thrice show a couple of weeks ago on this here blog of mine so I will do that now. Thrice, for me, has been one of those bands that creeps up slowly and then slams you on the head with a baseball bat. My brothers and many of my friends have been fans for years. I casually listened to them as well but never really got into it until they came out with the Vhiessu album. I was going through a fairly intense Bejeweled phase and I decided that I was going to memorize this cd as I played that horribly addictive game. It was my way of unwinding after studying before heading to bed. As I listened to the music I started to get a feel for the subtle genius in their arrangements and to decipher the unrivaled lyrics of Dustin Kensrue. His lyrics are often biblical and offer messages of redemption and hope while still speaking about frustration, angst, and a general dissatisfaction with the state of man, a combination that speaks to the core of my life experience. Here are the lyrics to one of my favorite songs Artist in the Ambulance

Late night, brakes lock, hear the tires squeal
Red light, can’t stop so I spin the wheel
My world goes black before I feel an angel lift me up
And I open bloodshot eyes into fluorescent white
They flip the siren, hit the lights, close the doors and I am gone
Now I lay here owing my life to a stranger
And I realize that empty words are not enough
I’m left here with the question of just
What have I to show except the promises I never kept?
I lie here shaking on this bed, under the weight of my regrets
[Chorus:]
I hope that I will never let you down
I know that this can be more than just flashing lights and sound

Look around and you’ll see that at times it feels like no one really cares
It gets me down but I’m still gonna try to do what’s right, I know that there’s
A difference between sleight of hand, and giving everything you have
There’s a line drawn in the sand, I’m working up the will to cross it and
[Chorus]
Rhetoric can’t raise the dead
I’m sick of always talking when there’s no change
Rhetoric can’t raise the dead
I’m sick of empty words, let’s lead and not follow
Late night, brakes lock, hear the tires squeal
Red light, can’t stop so I spin the wheel
My world goes black before I feel an angel steal me from the
Greedy jaws of death and chance, and pull me in with steady hands
They’ve given me a second chance, the artist in the ambulance
[Chorus]
Can we pick you off the ground, more than flashing lights and sound

Metaphors obviously play a big part in Dustin’s messages and the way he sings leaves you with no doubt of his heartfelt passion. They’re classified as a post hard core band but they consider themselves to be experimental. While they have their roots in heavily distorted guitars and hard vocals their music has evolved toward a more thoughtful sound. Here’s a sample of what I’m talking about:

Did you catch the part that sounded like a freight train? And what other post core band uses the organ in their music? Too awesome for words. And their live performances will blow you away, particularly if you’re lucky enough to see them in Utah where they have an extremely loyal fan base. I mean at the show I saw in SLC there wasn’t even a mosh pit in the audience while Thrice was playing because nobody wanted to miss out on experiencing the music. Every one around me was singing along to every song. Sometimes it even got to the point where I couldn’t hear Dustin very well but I didn’t care. Being in a venue filled with people who love that music as much as I do is something I treasure.

Polar Bear Club and Deer Hunter were the opening acts and they were so, So, SO RAD! I’m thinking that I will buy their music with all those iTunes gifts cards I anticipate receiving for Christmas. πŸ˜‰ Sadly, Teppei (Thrice’s guitarist) had to leave the tour because of a family emergency so several members of Dear Hunter stepped in, splitting up Thrice’s songs amongst them and they did a fantastic job. That was my third time seeing Thrice but I anticipate seeing them again and again. Thrice forever!!

Haha, yeah, I’m a nerd. πŸ˜€

This week I decided to design an outfit for all the plus size ladies out there. Plus size fashion is tough. It seems like retailers either want you to dress like a stay at home mom, a business professional, or a party chick. Not really my thing. So yeah, I struggled with this one but I think I came up with something that is really great. I didn’t want to mess with trying to photoshop all this together because each piece is presented so differently, which means you’ll have to use your imaginations yet again. Dig deep. You can do it. The outfit total cost is $138.38.

Oh, and these heels are scary high (what is with this trend? Do designers have some kind of deal going with hospitals where for every broken ankle they get a percentage of the profits? I can’t help loving some of these shoes, though πŸ˜› ) but they could easily be replaced with a cute pair of gray or navy flats.

Faith21 tank

Faith21 jacket

avenue skirt

woman within tights

forever21 heels

Leave a Reply

