Tavi = superstar

28 Jan

There is a fashion blogger who I love and read religiously and I would like to introduce you all to her – all two of you who read my blog with any sort of consistency 😉

Her name is Tavi. She’s a thirteen year old fashion phenom whose blog swept the industry by storm. She’s crazy and funny and adorable, and surprisingly wise. Her latest post is all about the ills and thrills of fashion and she brought up some great points. Check it, you won’t be disappointed: http://tavi-thenewgirlintown.blogspot.com/2010/01/fashion-basically-also-team-conan.html

I’ve also been thinking a lot about the fashion industry lately. There is a huge part of me that loathes the superficial nature of it, the frighteningly thin models, the trashy magazines, and the general negative effect that the fashion media has had on our society over the last fifty years. But I can’t help how much I enjoy the creativity of it. Fashion, for me, is a fun escape from the woes of my world. And it’s not because I find clothes pretty, or a certain pair of shoes makes me feel sexy, or because I worship the digitally manipulated images of women who I wish I could be, because none of that is true. I love it for the same reason that I love art and music and literature. It’s an avenue of expression for human creativity and there is little else that I find more thrilling than a person’s exploration of that realm no matter what form it takes. The thing that sets fashion apart is that everyone takes part in it. Everybody, no matter what age, no matter how wealthy or educated, wakes up in the morning and puts on an outfit, a pair of shoes, maybe even a jacket or a hat, and steps out into the big bad world.

One Response to “Tavi = superstar”

  1. Alison February 1, 2010 at 2:02 am #

    I completely agree. Fashion is art, and expression and shouldn’t be taken to far.

Leave a Reply

