Story of my life

8 Feb

There is a dress from Urban Outfitters that I have been obsessing about since it first hit their site. I’ve been waiting for it to go on sale for months, dreaming about the awesome outfit that I would create with it. I had it all planned out in my head, forest green skinny cords, an awesome slouchy ankle boot and an adorable, pale pink shirt to go underneath with puff sleeves and a peter pan collar. Not too tall an order, right? As it turns out, it is too tall. Waaay too tall. Firstly, I can’t seem to find cords in the right color so I had to settle for jeans. Then the slouchy boots I had my eye on sold out so I had to settle for my second choice which is pretty awesome but not exactly the height I was looking for. And lastly, the thing that really hurts, I cannot find an affordable peter pan collared, puff sleeved shirt anywhere in any color. Did I imagine the peter pan collar, puff sleeve trend that I saw on runways last year that should now be taking the commercial industry by storm? Apparently so.  The worst part is that I know all of this frustration is entirely my fault. I thought and dreamed about this dress so much that I ended up ruining things for myself, which is what I always do. I need to learn to go with the flow and work with what I have rather than building things up so high in my mind that reality can never live up to my dreams. I’ve decided that thinking about things the appropriate amount is an art that I have yet to perfect. The only area of my life where I will let my dreams run wild is in my writing because in my books there is no reality to bring me crashing back to earth. I really did choose the perfect vocation for me. If only I could get someone to pay me for it. 😉

So here are the pieces that I came up with. Overall not a bad outfit and if you wanted to put a long sleeve, palest pink shirt underneath I think it would look great. (Just not as awesome as I had imagined with the peter pan collar and the short, puff sleeves. Are you getting tired of hearing about it yet?) I’ve included a jcrew tee to give you an idea of the color. Forest green and pale pink with gray. So, sooo awesome. If you have pieces in those colors I would encourage you to make an outfit with them right now. Seriously, go! Oh wait, look at these pieces first:

Urban Outfitters Obsession Worthy Dress

Slouchy Buckle Boots!!

Forest Green mmm... piney fresh

palest pink tee

2 Responses to “Story of my life”

  1. Chelsea February 9, 2010 at 10:26 pm #

    I totally see the Peter Pan collar and puffy sleeves. Stick to your dreams. You may be the one designing the perfectly complimentary shirt, and those of us who are children at heart, who let our dreams ravish reality will rejoice because we will have held out for what is best rather than what is currently available.

    • phillipskt February 9, 2010 at 10:54 pm #

      Thanks, Chelsea, I definitely needed to hear that today!

Leave a Reply

