welcome to being a grown up

13 Feb

Celebrity deaths are odd phenomena. We as a public feel fascinated by it because these are faces and voices that we have welcomed into our lives and allowed them to entertain us. But occasionally a celebrity will die who we’ve come to feel a connection with, maybe because they were part of a favorite movie, or they produced music that spoke to our souls, and we actually feel a true sense of loss. For me when I learned that Chaim Potok died, my favorite author, I was deeply saddened. To think that the world had lost such an amazing talent was something that affected me deeply. This week I’ve experienced another such loss in the fashion designer Alexander McQueen, who committed suicide at the age of forty. His art was other worldly, often beautiful, always captivating.

This is a hologram that he did for the finale of his 2006 fall show:

I had a lot I wanted to say about mental illness, about the despair that can consume us, about how this death has come at a time where I feel rocked by forces beyond my control and my own illnesses are threatening to overcome me, but I’ve changed my mind. What I really want to say is that the world needs artists to remind us that we are not animals functioning on survival instincts and day to day tasks. We need artists to remind us that our minds are worth exploring, our emotions worth expressing, and our ideas worth realizing. This week we lost an artist who accomplished this task of remembrance with the unique fervor of creative genius. Mr. McQueen, I hope you have found a place where you can rest and have some peace. Your art will live with me forever.

3 Responses to “welcome to being a grown up”

  1. Chelsea February 16, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    Katherine, this is beautiful. Thank you for sharing 🙂

  2. what does my name mean May 27, 2010 at 5:04 am #

    hi wats your myspace page

Leave a Reply

