oh bla

23 Mar

Why is it that so many of my childhood tastes have changed and yet I still cling to these old standbys? For instance, there are few meals that make me happier than pepperoni pizza and root beer. I listen to the old music that I truly loved, like (dare I say it?) Amy Grant and Janet Jackson and now I just want to claw my ears off. But sit me down with a game of Super Mario Bros and I’ll be entertained for hours. The reason I bring it up is because this week while I was styling my outfit I really got stumped on the shoe. The fact is that you could dress this one up and turn it into a church outfit with a cute flat but that just seemed so boring. Then I thought about using a blowfish boot, which would be very cute, but I just wasn’t feeling it. But when I was going through my old shoes, trying to decide what to keep and what to toss, I found my old indoor soccer shoes and Eureka! it dawned on me that this was exactly what the outfit needed. That little unexpected kick (pun intended) to finish off this outfit nicely. Adidas are a shoe that I’ve loved ever since I was in kindergarten and I strapped on my first pair of soccer cleats. I see those three stripes on a shoe and I instantly think of sunshine and freshly cut grass. This is an outfit that needs to be worn to the park on a happy spring day. Altogether it costs $155.

Also, I really like the idea of wearing a tam hat with this outfit, probably in cream or maybe yellow.

free people jacket

forever 21 rop

target tank

down east outfitters skirt

DownEast Outfitters skirt

adidas indoor shoes

4 Responses to “oh bla”

  1. Chelsea March 28, 2010 at 12:47 am #

    I haven’t been around in a while, but I love what you do. I also lament my loss of my *ahem* not-so-legal version of Photoshop, and totally feel your pain. Hope you’re doing well!

    • phillipskt March 29, 2010 at 1:47 am #

      Thanks! I’m doing pretty well. I miss you and our facebook chats!

  2. Megan June 7, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    So I’m totally lame and finally taking time to really care about your blog. Sorry for being such a dissapointment of a sister, however I have been quite busy. Enough excuses….I love your combinations, but can’t quite see the tennis shoes thing. Am I retarded? Maybe if I saw the whole outfit with the shoes that would help. I like it, but can’t quite visualize it. Other than that I think what you’re doing is really neat and quite wonderful.

    • phillipskt June 7, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      Haha, that’s okay. Like I said, there are a lot of different types of shoes that can be worn with this outfit. I just wanted to do something different. Love ya!

Leave a Reply

