Allergy like symptoms + feelings of melancholy = oncoming cold… I must remember this

5 May

So I’m sick again and I’m visiting my parents again. I’ve noticed a trend in my travel habits in that every time I visit certain places odd phenomena is sure to follow. Like when I visit my sister in Cleveland, a place of awful yucky weather, I bring sunshine with me. Seriously, Cleveland has like 500 overcast days a year and when I went out to visit her for a month a few years ago every single day was sunny. For the entire month. Not to mention all the other times I’ve visited her and the weather was without fail spectacular. Strange, no? Wait, it gets weirder. Since moving to northern Utah (woohoo Orem! …uh I guess) I visit my sister in Centerville at least once a week and every time I do it rains/hails/snows. Then I go home and the weather is all nice and sunny again. Now every time I visit my parents I get these gnarly chest colds. And it’s starting to freak me out. For reals. I mean, it’s not like I’m going to stop coming to my parents’ house. So does this mean I have to deal with being deathly ill every time I’m here? And these unseasonal storms that I keep bringing to the North Salt Lake area, what if I cause another freak tornado or something and somebody dies and it’s my fault? How am I supposed to live with that? What has happened to the randomness of the universe? Watch, now that I’ve admitted to this oddity that is probably causing you all to cement your suspicions of my craziness into absolute fact, the universe will again return to random chaos and I can stop worrying about causing drownings due to overflowing creeks every time I visit my sister or catching pneumonia whenever I miss my parents. Which is good. So blogging turns out to be a blessing once again. Woo.

In other news, I discovered a fantastic trend which maybe isn’t very new but it’s new to me and I’m very excited about it. Cami bras! Just in time for summer! The idea is that rather than adding another layer just so you can wear that really cute, but very low cut top, you just wear a bra that looks like a layer but really isn’t. Hooray for designers who actually think about a woman’s comfort. Here’s one that is more in my price range. Unfortunately most of the ones I actually liked were quite expensive but this one isn’t bad. Also I have to say that it is worth clicking on the link just so you can laugh at the two-for-one sale that they’re trying to do. The total discount is $1.16. Sometimes I wonder if these ad fellows understand that just because a person has mammary glands does not mean that they lack the brain capacity of those other people. You know… guys.

Cami Bra!

And here’s an outfit to go with it. Outfit total cost = $73

J.Crew Hand Cut Flower Art tee

Swell O'Neill Penelope Pant

Forever 21 Suedette Stud Sandals

Forever 21 Suedette Stud Sandals

2 Responses to “Allergy like symptoms + feelings of melancholy = oncoming cold… I must remember this”

  1. Alison May 8, 2010 at 1:53 pm #

    Kat, you made me laugh out loud with this blog. You are so funny and quirky, not crazy. The shoes are fantastic! I think I might need to get them.

    • phillipskt May 9, 2010 at 4:30 am #

      Yes, I love the shoes! I want them too. But I won’t buy them because I’m flat broke so you definitely should and then I can just be jealous of you when we’re at the beach.

Leave a Reply

