My car was attacked by a tree, a new online clothing store, and my blog needs a new name

26 May

I haven’t said much about my move to the big O… Orem that is. Mostly the reason why I haven’t talked about it is because it was really boring and extremely stressful. Suffice it to say that after two months of applying for jobs all over northern Utah I finally landed a night watch position at a treatment facility for kids with behavioral problems. Basically I stay up all night and do checks every fifteen minutes to make sure that the girls are breathing. This means that all of my sleeping is done through the morning and into the afternoon. My roommates know this and are really nice about it and they don’t judge me for sleeping until four o’clock most days. So the other day when I woke up at nine o’clock to a pounding on my door and my roommate yelling “Did you get my text?” I truly thought I was still sleeping. I think I said something close to “Wagga wi – huh?” And Nicolle yelled back, “Your car is covered in tree branches and they keep breaking! Hurry and move it before something gets smashed!” I had no idea what she was talking about. All I knew was that she was frantic and my car was in peril. I jumped out of bed and caught site of something white and slushy falling from the sky. Yeah it was snow. In the last week of May. Blegh. Suddenly the broken tree branches made sense. So I threw on a coat and shoes and ran outside to see several inches of slush and my car virtually buried in frozen leaves and tree branches. The truly weird thing was that despite the fact that these trees lined the entire fence where I had parked they had only broken over my car and the truck that had parked several feet behind me. The rest of the street was totally clean. For some reason the trees decided that they hate cars. I have a very strong suspicion that they were trying in their own way to get revenge on us for global warming. That or the weather truly is conspiring against me and the only way I can survive is if I become a hermit in an underground bunker. Awesome.

Anywho, I couldn’t fall back to sleep after that so I decided to get online and start styling a new outfit. Whilst doing so I found a new clothing website called the Shabby Apple that has modest dresses that are reasonably priced and are actually fashion forward. I’m very excited about it! The name is kind of odd because apples can’t really be shabby but I kind of love it for that reason. It’s nonsensical but it has nice connotations. This week’s outfit has one of their dresses and I will definitely be featuring more of their dresses in my posts.

After perusing Shabby Apple’s website to my heart’s content I decided to google my blog for funzees and, sad day, it turns out that someone else is already using the name the Thrifty Fashionista! So I’ve decided that I need to change my blog name. The web address will remain the same but it is officially time for a new moniker. At first I was thinking the Latter Day Fashionista but then I thought that might be pigeon holing myself so now I’m thinking either Kat’s Fashion Nonsense or Fashion Martyrtard. If you don’t know what that means then click on the word and you will be taken to my post that gives a definition of it. What do you guys think? If you have a better idea then let me know. I’m open to suggestions.

Outfit total cost = $117.48

Shabby Apple La Tour Eiffel dress

Urban Outfitters Nautical Knot Belt

Target Merona Ballet Flats

Leave a Reply

