This I Know

5 Jul

Here is a list of the top ten things I’ve learned while working a night shift job:

1. Having an overly friendly and talkative co-worker hang out with me for eight hours straight does not make them my best friend. Instead it drives me to the edge of insanity. I don’t care how much time you spent on your Jack Nicholson impersonation. I don’t want to hear it.

2. The West Wing is awesome no matter how many times I watch it.

3. Writing a book is hard when you’re interrupted every fifteen minutes. (Which is how often I do head checks.) Parents who work at home are remarkable.

4. Girls will make themselves throw up multiple times in order to get out of school the next day. Also, I will not die from examining throw up as I previously thought. I will however get really, really angry if I suspect that you’re trying to manipulate me with your vomit. Like, the Hulk angry.

5. Those little cups of juice with the tin foil lids are just about the best thing ever.

6. The iTunes visualizer is the second best thing ever.

7. Having eight hours to kill in a dark basement with no internet can feel like torture.

8. I hate being poor and having no money is giving me a lot more angst than I ever anticipated.

9. I can get by on very little sleep and maintain my sanity so long as I am allowed to sleep an unlimited amount of time at the end of the sleep deprivation period.

10. Being an adult is vastly overrated.

That was fun. Woo.

So my friend Chelsea (the mad genius behind the Kindergarten Philosophies and the Power of C blogs) got a really awesome hair cut and put up pictures on facebook and I was like dang, how sweet would it be to have hair that doesn’t kink out at the slightest sign of moisture so that I could have awesome haircuts like that? And then I was like, that haircut is so sweet that I’m going to style an outfit just for my friend Chelsea. So I did. And here it is for you all to see.

Outfit total cost = $95.77

(and of course the belt will be worn at the natural waist)

Faith 21 tee

Torrid Belt

Torrid Moto Skinny Jean

ModCloth Nick's Kicks Boot

Happy 4th of July everyone!

8 Responses to “This I Know”

  1. Alison July 5, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    Kat, that was hilarious!! You are such a crack up. I love that you can find humor in everything. It is quite a gift.

    • phillipskt July 5, 2010 at 12:13 pm #

      Thanks! I’m so excited to see you guys!!

  2. Chelsea July 5, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    Hey! It’s the inspiration stopping by to see what’s up 😉 haha–but for the realsies, I *TOTALLY* dig this outfit. As in, would completely wear with absolute pride, and I would tell everyone you were my inspired stylist. Back in the days of freshman year of college when I still had delusions of grandeur I said my sister would do my make-up and hair (check!) and my roommate could do all my laundry (check!), and now I believe you should be my stylist. At which point…I would pretty much rock so hard even Oprah would want to be my friend (alas, since the days of the big O are waning, perhaps I should say Ellen…).

    Thanks again, Kathryn!

    • phillipskt July 5, 2010 at 7:45 pm #

      Yay! I’m so glad you liked it. When you beat me at being a rich and famous writer I will totally be your stylist. As for Oprah being your friend, Ellen is ten times cooler in my book so it’s a win-win.

  3. Brady July 6, 2010 at 8:51 am #

    What is the iTunes Visualizer?

    How dare you, or anyone belittle Oprah!

    • phillipskt July 6, 2010 at 7:24 pm #

      It generates audio visualization using your music. In iTunes go to View, go down to Visualizer and make sure that iTunes Visualizer is checked then click on Show Visualizer while your music is playing. It’s this mind bending display of shapes and colors. You can change modes by pressing m on your keyboard. LSD is no longer required for a good trippy experience. All you need is iTunes. 😉

  4. Megan July 29, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    Me likey…..sorry that my comments are always, like, waaaaaaaay later than everyone else. But I figure it still counts? Any woo, you made me laugh so hard I peed (sp?) just a little into my pants and felt like you were inside my head for a second. Try adding three kids to that equation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    But sir-ee-uts-lee, you are super funny AND cool AND I feel lucky to have such a talented, clever sister. YOU ROCK. So does the outfit……alot.

    • phillipskt July 30, 2010 at 6:26 pm #

      Oh my gosh, the laughter! The outfit rocks, Alot! I’m just imagining the Alot monster with an annoyed look on his face thinking, “Leave me alone. I can’t wear cool clothes because of all this fur, you jerk.”

      Also, the fact that you laughed so hard you peed a little makes me feel awesome, and I’m not sure what that says about me as a person. 😉

Leave a Reply

