M. Night Shamalamadingdong

10 Jul

So I’ve heard from pretty much everyone that the Last Airbender is an absolute suck fest except for the fight scenes. Poo. At first I was like, No! You must be wrong! How could anyone fail with such amazing material? As it turns out M. Night Shymadoo can. Apparently he completely failed to bring over the brilliant comedy (secret, Secret, SecRET, SECRET TUNNEL!) and endearing characters right down to pronouncing all of their names wrong. (okay, so in China they pronounce Aang as ung or whatever but guess what? Avatar is not based in China. It is a fictional anime world and his name can be pronounced Aaaang if people want to. And guess what else? We want to!) So yeah, I’m sad. But I’m glad I waited to go and now I won’t waste eight fifty on disappointment.

In other news I finally took my car to get serviced and while it was being serviced I went for a walk and while I was on a walk I got caught in a summer drizzle and while it was drizzling it was glorious! Summer rains always remind me of being in Europe. I need to make more money so I can go back lots more times and see lots more stuff and be lots more cultured and maybe that way I will never say lots again. Also, maybe I will quit thinking that run on sentences and using poor grammar is funny and stop writing this way so much. Probably not though.

Obviously I don’t really have anything to say today as evidenced by my rambling but I lovey love love the outfit I’ve been styling and couldn’t wait for good inspiration to strike. I wish I could photoshop it all together. Stinking expensive programs that think they’re too good for poor people. I wonder if my library has it. Probably not. The Orem library is lame.

Yeah – like I said. Rambling.

Outfit total cost = $117

Anthropologie Keeping Tabs Tee

Lee Women's Panama Bermuda

Urban Outfitters Suspender

I know what you’re thinking. Wiggi-wah? These are men’s suspenders! Sadly people don’t really make suspenders for girls too much but I’m sure these will fit adequately. They’re not actually meant to keep your shorts up. Your hips should do that just fine. Unless you’re like me and have no hips in which case even suspenders that fit like a boa constrictor won’t keep your shorts up.

Forever 21 fern woven peep toe flats

Free People Charlie Hat

I don’t usually do accessories but this outfit needs this hat the way that chocolate needs peanut butter or Ethan Hawke needs scruffy facial hair.

.

6 Responses to “M. Night Shamalamadingdong”

  1. Megan July 12, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

    I lovey, love, love the whole thing. Super cute, how did you ever find those shoes? I agree that suspenders fun and would look great with the flat front shorts. You’re neat! P.S. Sorry about the last airbender. 😦

    • Megan July 12, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

      Sorry… ahem…suspenders ARE fun. Oh and I’ve been wanting to wear hats more often but feel sort of lame. On average, when you see someone wearing a hat do you thing they look lame? I suppose it’s all subjective…based on the person and the hat, eh? I’m retarded. I’d like to try wearing more hats though. Sorry if that didn’t make any sense!

      • phillipskt July 13, 2010 at 9:19 am #

        haha, oh Meggers. You’re just plain awesome. When I see people wearing hats I think that they are neat even if their hat is lame because it shows how uninhibited they are. And let’s face it, don’t we all wish we were more uninhibited? The hats I love most right now are hats that are inspired by the twenties and thirties, (e.g. cloche hats and some fedoras although I’m really tired of the traditional, Johnny Depp fedora) pork pie hats and the big, floppy brimmed seventies hats. When it gets to be winter time again I will start craving the knitty nubbly ones like tam hats and beanies with bobbles like in Where’s Waldo. I think you would look super cute in hats of all kinds because you are super cute 😉 so you should go for it!

      • phillipskt July 13, 2010 at 9:23 am #

        My cloche hat link didn’t work. Here’s a better one.

  2. Chelsea August 13, 2010 at 4:18 am #

    Dig this outfit. I sometimes judge people who wear winter hats in summer–until I do the same thing because I don’t have summer hats in all the colors I need. But on a different note, for me Airbender was a comedy. I sat next to two other RMs and the whole time we were like “This is totally teaching the gospel! It’s like they read PMG!” But here’s the true confession: my roommate Loni and I choreographed a waterbending routine in the rain a few weeks ago. We. So. Totally. Rock. That’s all 🙂

    • phillipskt August 13, 2010 at 8:27 am #

      Nice! I’m thinking you need to make a video and post it on facebook. That would make my day.

Leave a Reply

